January 2015

Bobbitt, Fritsch Named Fellows of the National Academy of Inventors

Donald R. Bobbitt (left), Ingrid Fritsch

Donald R. Bobbitt, president of the University of Arkansas System, and Ingrid Fritsch, both members of the chemistry and biochemistry faculty at the University of Arkansas, have been named fellows of the National Academy of Inventors.

Election to NAI Fellow status is a high professional distinction accorded to academic inventors who have

demonstrated a highly prolific spirit of innovation in creating or facilitating outstanding inventions that have made a tangible impact on quality of life, economic development and the welfare of society, according to the academy.

Bobbitt, a 2014 initiate into the academy, was awarded patents for discoveries he made in the 1990s as a faculty member in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry. He joined the faculty in 1985 and received a University of Arkansas Alumni Association Award in Teaching and the Fulbright College Master Teacher Award, among other honors. He served as dean of the J. William Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences at the U of A from 2003-08.
Bobbitt has been president of the U of A System since Nov. 1, 2011. Before that, he served as provost and vice president for academic affairs at the University of Texas at Arlington from 2008-11.

“I am deeply honored to be recognized as a fellow in the National Academy of Inventors,” Bobbitt said. “Over the years I have had the pleasure and great fortune to work with an exceptional group of students and colleagues and this recognition is a tribute to their innovativeness and creativity.”

Fritsch was initiated into the National Academy of Inventors in 2013. She came to the U of A faculty in 1992 from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, where she was a postdoctoral associate.

She is the recipient of the 1997 Society of Electroanalytical Chemistry Young Investigator Award, a National Science Foundation Career Award, an NSF Special Creativity Extension and an American Chemical Society Chemistry Ambassadorship.  She holds 10 U.S. patents and has co-founded two startup companies. She is currently on the board of directors of SFC Fluidics Inc.

“I’m delighted to be named a fellow of the National Academy of Inventors,” Fritsch said. “This recognition validates my vision and efforts toward building up the science and technology base in Arkansas in association with the area’s scientific and business community with meaningful impact on the world.”

Learn More

Study Eyes Responses to Large-Scale Data Breaches


Viswanath Venkatesh

Information systems researchers in the Sam M. Walton College of Bsuiness who studied the effect of two compensation strategies used by Target in reaction to a large-scale data breach that affected more than 70 million customers, have found that overcompensation of affected customers may only raise suspicions rather than satisfy customers’ sense of justice.

The researchers have developed a model that organizations can use to address and respond to large-scale data breaches and manage customer outcomes.

“Our findings demonstrate that firms should carefully consider response strategies and associated investments to a large-scale data breach,” said Viswanath Venkatesh, Distinguished Professor of information systems. “Despite the high costs of compensating all customers, managers may be tempted to solve the problem by ‘throwing money at it’ due to pressure from dissatisfied customers, widespread media attention and competitors’ reactions to previous data breaches. Our findings emphasize that such a strategy may in fact be problematic.”

Venkatesh and Hartmut Hoehle, assistant professor of information systems, conducted a longitudinal field study investigating Target’s large-scale data breach in December 2013. They collected 338 responses from individuals who participated in two rounds of surveys, one taken immediately after the breach occurred and another after reparations had been made. The surveys asked customers about their experiences and expectations for compensation.


Learn More

VPRED Seeks Abstracts for SEC Academic Collaboration Award









The Office of the Vice Provost for Research and Economic Development is requesting abstracts from the campus for a student-focused collaboration among Southeastern Conference universities.

The SEC Academic Collaboration Award is made each year to one SEC institution to support joint activities involving all other SEC universities. Examples of collaborative activities include intra-conference competitions, graduate-student recruiting fairs and undergraduate research initiatives. 

For those interested in this program, please submit a one-paragraph summary of your idea to research@uark.edu with the subject line “SECU Collaboration” by Feb. 16.  The university is only allowed one proposal, which will be chosen from the internal submissions.

The SEC Academic Collaboration Award is part of SECU, the academic initiative of the SEC. SECU serves as the primary mechanism through which the collaborative academic endeavors and achievements of SEC universities are promoted and advanced. 

Learn More

Faculty Workshop Focuses on Book Contracts


University of Arkansas faculty who are interested in learning about securing a book contract are invited to a workshop on the topic to be hosted next month by the J. William Fulbright College of Arts & Sciences.

“How to Get a Book Contract: Learn the Secrets of Publishing Monographs, Novels and Edited Volumes,” will be held from 3-5 p.m. on Thursday, February 12, in Room 523 in Old Main.

Sharon Gaber, provost and vice chancellor for academic affairs, will introduce the session, which is designed to benefit faculty across the campus at every level, from recent graduates to advanced researchers.

Seating is limited to 40. To register, contact Debbie Power at dlpower@uark.edu or call (479) 575-3684 by 4:30 p.m. on Thursday, February 5.

The workshop will focus on tips and strategies for communicating with editors of presses, preparing book proposals, moving a book through the publication process and promoting the book once it appears.



Bobbitt, Fritsch Named Fellows of the National Academy of Inventors

Study Eyes Responses to Large-Scale Data Breaches

VPRED Seeks Abstracts for SEC Academic Collaboration Award

Faculty Workshop Focuses on Book Contracts


Hidden Killers Invade Florida Everglades

Study Shows Ideology Prevents Wheat Growers From Converting to More Profitable Methods

Dean Awarded IMLS-RBS Fellowship for Early Career Librarians


The Arkansas Catalyst
Sign up for Listserv information on the following topics: arts and humanities, high-performance computing, DNA sequencing, energy and environment, food safety, health, nanotechnology, NASA-related research, RazorGrant, STEM education and sustainability

Grant Award Winners

The following is a sampling of the top grants awarded to faculty in December, with the principal investigator, the award amount and the sponsor. An asterisk (*) indicates the continuation of a previous award.
• Jak Chakhalian, $1.8 million, Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation
• Alan Mantooth, $102,713, United Technologies Research Center
• *Manuel Rossetti, $60,000, Covidien
• David Deere, $38,178, University of Missouri


Follow us on twitter

Stay updated on Facebook

Watch research videos on YouTube

Contact us

Vice Provost for Research and Economic Development
205 Administration Building
1 University of Arkansas
Fayetteville, AR 72701
Website: vpred.uark.edu

email us


You're receiving this newsletter because you signed up for the The Arkansas Catalyst newsletter.

unsubscribe now

The Arkansas Catalyst is an initiative of the office of the vice provost for research and economic development with support from the office of university relations & information technology services.