April 2014

Provost Office Launches New Initiative to Recognize, Support Award-Winning Researchers

Provost Sharon Gaber addresses faculty research award-winners at a reception held April 2 at the Wallace W. and Jama M. Fowler House.

The University of Arkansas has launched an initiative to support and recognize its nationally competitive award-winning researchers. The Faculty Award Recognition Program will provide mentorship and application-writing support for faculty and staff seeking grants through nationally recognized research programs.

The university kicked off the initiative on April 2 with a

reception at the Wallace W. and Jama M. Fowler House.

Chancellor G. David Gearhart, in his opening remarks, told those in attendance that his administration appreciates their accomplishments.

“We take great pride in our faculty, and you are bringing prestige and distinction to the University of Arkansas, and helping raise our academic reputation,” Gearhart said.

Sharon Gaber, provost and vice chancellor for academic affairs, developed the Faculty Award Recognition Program with Jim Rankin, vice provost for research and economic development, and Ro Di Brezzo, the university's recently appointed vice provost for faculty development and enhancement.

The program initially focuses on the 23 faculty award programs recognized by the Top American Research Universities study conducted by Arizona State University. Examples include the Fulbright American Scholar Program, the National Endowment for the Humanities and the National Science Foundation Early Career Development Program, better known as the NSF CAREER award.

The university recognized the winners of the CAREER award at a reception on April 10 in Carnall Hall.

The goal is to encourage faculty to apply for these prestigious awards, Rankin said.
“Many of our faculty members have the accomplishments and expertise to be recognized by a national award,” Rankin said. “One of the reasons why they have not been selected for these awards may be because they have not applied or have not been nominated. The university should play an instrumental role in helping its faculty.”

The program will work with college deans and department heads to identify faculty who should be considered candidates for a faculty award program. Once the candidates have been identifies, mentors will provide guidance with the application package, including the composition of the application. Finally, the university will recognize faculty award winners through various avenues, including an annual reception.

Sagers, Beitle Appointed Associate Vice Provosts


Cynthia Sagers, Bob Beitle

Cynthia Sagers and Bob Beitle have been appointed as associate vice provosts for research and economic development.
Sagers and Beitle will both retain their faculty appointments in the departments of biological sciences and chemical engineering, respectively. They report to Jim Rankin, vice provost for research and economic development.
In their roles, Sagers and Beitle will help support faculty in research positions by identifying funding opportunities and working with them to develop grant proposals. They will also represent the U of A at state and federal agencies and consortiums, such as the Arkansas Space Grant Consortium and the National Science Foundation’s Office of Experimental Program to Stimulate Competitive Research, known as EPSCoR.
“Dr. Sagers and Dr. Beitle are both greatly respected members of the University of Arkansas faculty who will strongly assist in building the campus’ research enterprise,” Rankin said.

Learn More

Reeves Wins SEC Faculty Achievement Award

Carol Reeves

The Southeastern Conference has announced that Carol Reeves, the Cecil & Gwendolyn Cupp Applied Professor in Entrepreneurship, is the recipient of the University of Arkansas’ 2014 Faculty Achievement Award.
The award honors professors from SEC universities with outstanding records in teaching and scholarship who serve as role models for other faculty and students.
SEC Faculty Achievement Award winners, one from each university, will receive a $5,000 honorarium and become his or her university’s nominee for the SEC Professor of the Year Award. The SEC Professor of the Year receives an additional $15,000 honorarium and will be recognized during the annual SEC Spring Banquet in May.
In addition to her faculty appointment in the Sam M. Walton College of Business, Reeves serves as associate vice provost for entrepreneurship at the University of Arkansas. In that role, Reeves promotes entrepreneurship and economic development in Northwest Arkansas and across the state. She works with faculty and students in all colleges at the U of A to encourage the start-up of new companies based on university research.

Learn More

Research Office Awards Arts and Humanities Seed Grants to Faculty


The office of vice provost for research and economic development has awarded five faculty research grants through its Arts and Humanities Seed Funding Program.

The grants, totaling $20,000, are intended to enrich the research and professional growth of the faculty member and the university and result in new opportunities for research or other creative endeavors. The money will be used on items that will further a project such as materials, supplies and travel.

Those selected for the grants and their departments are: Caree Banton, history; Amy Herzberg, drama; Lynn Jacobs, art; Cory Mixdorf, music; and Tim Nutt, special collections, University of Arkansas Libraries.
“The proposals reflected a healthy diversity of interests in the arts and humanities on campus,” said Cynthia Sagers, associate vice provost for research and economic development.

“This is the third year of the program, and all evidence suggests that this investment has the potential to stimulate further creative endeavors and extramural support.”

Learn More


New Initiative to Support, Recognize Research Award Winners

Sagers, Beitle Appointed Associate Vice Provosts

Reeves Wins SEC Faculty Achievement Award

Research Office Awards Arts and Humanities Seed Grants to Faculty


Fiber-Optic Microscope Will Help Physicians Detect Cancer, Diseases at Early Stages

Poverty and Place Affect Health

Protein Followed by Exercise is Recipe for Calorie-Burning Success in Some Women


The Arkansas Catalyst
Sign up for Listserv information on the following topics: arts and humanities, high-performance computing, DNA sequencing, energy and environment, food safety, health, nanotechnology, NASA-related research, policy, RazorGrant, STEM education and sustainability

Grant Award Winners

The following is a sampling of the top grants awarded to faculty in March, with the principal investigator, the award amount and the sponsor. An asterisk (*) indicates the continuation of a previous award.
• Andrew Alverson, $439,262, National Science Foundation
• Shannon Servoss, $359,866, National Science Foundation
• Ken Vickers, $359,866, National Science Foundation
• Nathan Parks, $256,508, National Institutes of Health


Follow us on twitter

Stay updated on Facebook

Watch research videos on YouTube

Contact us

Vice Provost for Research and Economic Development
205 Administration Building
1 University of Arkansas
Fayetteville, AR 72701
Website: vpred.uark.edu

email us


You're receiving this newsletter because you signed up for the The Arkansas Catalyst newsletter.

unsubscribe now

The Arkansas Catalyst is an initiative of the office of the vice provost for research and economic development with support from the office of university relations & information technology services.